Getting here

Overseas visitors can arrive in Australia at a number cities, although most will use Sydney’s Kingsford Smith airport (SYD).  Unless you are coming from Asia (or Antarctica), we strongly advise arriving at least 24 hours before the conference begins, in order to mitigate the effects of jet lag.

Visa requirements

All travellers to Australia must have a valid visa before boarding their plane. Participants require either a Short Validity Business ETA or a Business (Short Stay) Visa. Conference participants who are not eligible to apply for an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) need to request a "Letter of Invitation" to supplement their application.


The usual practice of professional conference organisers is to make a block booking of rooms at selected hotels at a large discount, pocket the savings, then offer those rooms at a higher rate than you could have booked on-line yourself.

Instead, we will suggest one or two hotels in or near the Sydney CBD in each price range, and let you make your own arrangements.  We won’t guarantee that these hotels are any better than the alternatives, but at least if you choose one of our suggested ones you should see some familiar faces at breakfast.

Ferry transport is available between the CBD (Circular Quay) and the conference venue.

ASA 2011

Recognising that coming to Australia represents a major travel commitment for many people, we have timed this meeting to allow overseas visitors to also attend the Astronomical Society of Australia Annual Scientific Meeting in Adelaide the following week. Astronomers may also be interested in attending the Supernovae and their Host Galaxies meeting in Sydney from 20 - 24 June.

Future meetings of SCAR AAA

  • It is also anticipated that there will be a significant Antarctic astronomy component at the IAU 28th General Assembly, Beijing (China), August, 2012.


This is a SCAR Scientific Research Program meeting, with additional funding generously provided by the Australian Antarctic Division, Astronomy Australia Limited, Australian Astronomical Observatory, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science, and the University of New South Wales.